The Traditional GAA CrestLiam MellowsGAA Script style emblemClub
Group shot of Coaches, Teachers and Pupil participating in Cumann na mBunscoil 7's Blitz

Eight Primary Schools were in attendance;

  • Scoil Caitríona Renmore
  • Gael Scoil Dara
  • Gael Scoil Mhic Amhlaidh
  • Scoil Iognaid
  • Briarhill
  • St. Pat's
  • Merlin Woods
  • Knocknacarra.

Wide shot of a game underway in the Cumann na mBunscoil 7's Blitz at Ballyloughane, Galway.

Cumann na mBunscoil 7's Blitz

Every child got an opportunity to play Hurling and it was pleasure to witness such a diverse group of children all playing together. All schools demonstrated a high level of skill - especially striking from the hand on the run.

There were two groups of four teams, with each team guaranteed 3 games in the Group stage. Briarhill topped Group 1 while GSMA ran out Group 2 winners. Briarhill won a fiercely contested Final.

Group of players in a game underway in the Cumann na mBunscoil 7's Blitz at Ballyloughane waiting for a free to be taken.

Today's event could not have been held without the help of the following people;


  • Mike Nolan - Pitch & Dressing Room Facilities
  • Tom Hanley - Catering and Hot Beverages
  • Jack Forde, Steve Killeen & Tadhg Haran - Match Referees
  • All NS Principles and Teaching Staff for promoting Hurling in their respective Schools.
  • Shane Kenneally (Múinteoir Shane) - Blitz Organiser & School Liaison.